Americans for Immigrant Justice Announces Ian Ross as President of the Board of Directors

Americans for Immigrant Justice (AI Justice) is proud to announce that Ian Ross has been elected as President of its Board of Directors for a two-year term, effective July 1, 2024.

Ross is a partner at Sidley Austin LLP where he represents corporations, directors, and officers, as well as professional service and accounting firms, in commercial and securities litigation, professional liability actions, consumer class actions, and government investigations.

He also served as the Pro Bono Coordinator for another international law firm’s Miami office and is an active partner of AI Justice’s Pro Bono Program, representing refugees seeking political asylum in removal proceedings in immigration court. He has represented clients from Burundi, Kenya, Mexico, Venezuela, Honduras, and Russia, among others, and has been recognized by AI Justice as a Pro Bono Hero.

“I’m honored and humbled to represent this fantastic organization and Board as incoming Board President,” said Ross, who has served on the AI Justice Board since 2018.

“I’ve had the privilege of working with and litigating alongside Americans for Immigrant Justice and serving on its Board for many years. I look forward to continuing to work with AI Justice for years to come.”

Our Gratitude to Johanna Rousseaux, Immediate Past President

As AI Justice welcomes our new board leadership, we extend a heartfelt thank you to Johanna Oliver Rousseaux for her unwavering dedication as our outgoing Board President. Johanna’s tenure—spanning four years—has been marked by significant milestones, including guiding us through the retirement of our founder Cheryl Little, the search for an Executive Director, and navigating the unprecedented challenges of a global pandemic. Her leadership, support, trust, and patience have been the cornerstones of our staff and management’s success. Johanna’s contributions will continue to resonate within our organization for years to come.

AI Justice’s 2024 Board Members

As Chair, Ian Ross will oversee the operation of AI Justice’s Board of Directors alongside the current Board of Directors and Executive Committee:

President: Ian Ross
Vice President: Ani Buraglia
Secretary: Khalid Mirza
Treasurer: Jose Sepulveda
Immediate Past President: Johanna Rousseaux
At-Large: Francisco Sanchez

Elizabeth Anderson
Paulina Holguin Askins
Carl Goldfarb
Kimberly Green
Caroline Herter
Ernesto Luciano
Chris McAliley
Ilaria Pezzatini
Peter Upton